An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Artist’s rendering of WGS-11+


  • SBIRS GEO-5 achieves Operational Acceptance

    The Space Based Infrared System Geosynchronous Earth Orbit - Satellite #5 (SBIRS GEO-5) was formally transferred from Space Systems Command (SSC) to Space Operations Command (SpOC) on Feb. 4, 2022 during an Operational Acceptance ceremony. “The addition of the SBIRS GEO-5 satellite will ensure that

  • Weather Wing provides solution to Guardians

    Airmen from the 2d Combat Weather Systems Squadron traveled to Cape Canaveral Space Force Station, Florida, Jan. 17 – 21 to install a Portable Doppler Radar or PDR weather system to assist Guardians with space launch operations.The PDR was installed to prevent a gap in environmental data coverage

  • First USSF JROTC in California Established in Transfer Ceremony

    APPLE VALLEY, Calif. - The U.S. Air Force (USAF) Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps (JROTC) unit at the Academy for Academic Excellence in Apple Valley, Calif. became the first U.S. Space Force (USSF) JROTC unit in California during a formal transfer ceremony held Jan. 18.The Academy for Academic

  • Air Force announces Spark Tank 2022 semi-finalists

    ARLINGTON, Virginia – A panel of nearly 30 subject matter experts from across the Department of the Air Force met Nov. 16, 2021 at the Basic Research Innovation and Collaboration Center (BRICC) in Arlington, Virginia and via a virtual teleconferencing platform to conduct the Spark Tank 2022 (ST22)

  • Department of the Air Force releases COVID-19 policy

    The Department of the Air Force released its policy today outlining the way forward for Total Force military members serving in the Air Force and Space Force who have requested separation or retirement prior to Nov. 2, 2021, or whose COVID-19 medical exemption or religious accommodation was denied.